Global Designer

A
global designer ?

The world needs designers capable of embracing the complexity of problems and responding to them with systemic approaches, without prejudging the form or nature of the answers. It is the questions they can answer that characterise them, not their field of answers or their limits.

 

Embracing complexity: the end of specialities

Open, multicultural, connected, digital, ecological, ethical, political: the 21st century is one of increasing complexity, a century in which there is no longer any question of producing objects, spaces or services that are disconnected from their context, and above all disconnected from their impact.

Our life situations are complex and therefore intermingle needs as well as desires, functions as well as pleasure, reason as well as imagination.

devenir designer global
 

Deploying a systemic approach

The mission of a global designer is to take an interest in these life situations, in their entirety, without prejudging the nature of the response: object, space, interface or service. He must be capable, in teamwork, of proposing them all, in the end.

It is therefore a system that the global designer constructs and proposes: a system of objects, technological systems, hybrid systems, where matter, space and time intermingle in what is called a use, or better, an experience.

 

Developing its singularity

On this continuum that goes from matter to decision, where objects, spaces, signs, interfaces, services and experiences are associated, everyone can and must nevertheless assert their singularity and have a more developed taste and talent for objects, spaces, signs or services.

The global designer thus develops a major skill in one sector, but without ever ignoring the others, and by possessing the codes, if not having total mastery of them.

They thus assert a form of expertise (object / space / interaction / mobility / identity / service / experience / decision) while allowing themselves to move according to opportunities, projects and desires, including the desire to be surprised!

And it is obviously in collaboration, where talent is added on all these dimensions, that it is possible to design complete and controlled systems.

Collaborating

 

Projects are always bigger than those who participate in them, and no one can claim to understand, master and solve everything on their own today.

The world is dense, open, connected, and the problems and opportunities are on a scale of the planet: huge, complex and uncertain.

The designer, however generous he may be, can understand and produce absolutely nothing alone, nor surrounded only by designers.

Design is bigger than designers, and it is in association with engineers, marketers, communicators, sociologists, researchers, and many experts that it can hope to produce answers that are systemic in nature.

A demanding job

 

Being a global designer is a demanding project.
The world is changing every day, so you have to follow its changes, if not anticipate them.

It is therefore necessary to be constantly on the lookout, to be informed, to cultivate oneself, in all fields: arts, sciences, technologies, social sciences, politics, ... All possibilities to enlighten the world must be exploited.

It is at this price (but it is a sweet price to pay, because cultivating oneself is a pleasure!), that the global designer can hope to remain so for a long time, by tackling a wide variety of problems, which will connect him/her to the world all the time.

An exhilarating job

 

Because this is the promise of the job of a global designer: to stay connected to the world in an inquisitive and ingenious way.
To see it move as much as to make it move.
Repairing it as much as embellishing it.
Bringing joy as well as care.
To make it livable, for everyone and for a long time.

An exhilarating job

Because this is the promise of the job of a global designer: to stay connected to the world in an inquisitive and ingenious way.
To see it move as much as to make it move.
Repairing it as much as embellishing it.
Bringing joy as well as care.
To make it livable, for everyone and for a long time.

Designer global

Devenir
"designer

global ?"

Le monde a besoin de designers capables d'embrasser la complexité des problèmes, et d'y répondre par des approches systémiques, sans préjuger de la forme ou de la nature des réponses. Ce sont les questions auxquelles ils peuvent répondre qui les caractérisent, pas leur champ de réponses où les limites de ceux-ci.

 

Embrasser la complexité : la fin des spécialités en design

Ouvert, multiculturel, connecté, numérique, écologique, éthique, politique : le 21ème siècle est celui d'une complexité croissante, un siècle où il n'est plus question de produire des objets, des espaces ou des services déconnectés de leur contexte, et surtout déconnectés de leur impact.

Nos situations de vie sont complexes et s'y entremêlent donc des besoins autant que des désirs, des fonctions autant que du plaisir, de la raison autant que des imaginaires.

 

Déployer une approche systémique : design Global

La mission d'un designer global est de s'intéresser à ces situations de vie, dans leur globalité, sans préjuger de la nature de la réponse : objet, espace, interface ou service. Il doit être capable, dans un travail d'équipe, de les proposer toutes, à la fin.

 

C'est donc un système que construit et propose le designer global : système d'objets, systèmes technologiques, systèmes hybrides, où la matière, l'espace et le temps s'entremêlent dans ce qu'on appelle un usage, ou mieux, une expérience.

 

Designer global : Développer sa singularité 

Sur ce continuum qui va de la matière à la décision, où objets, espaces, signes, interfaces, services et expériences sont associés, chacun peut et doit cependant affirmer sa singularité et avoir un goût et un talent plus développé sur l'objet, l'espace, les signes ou les services.


Devenir designer global c'est développer aussi une compétence majeure dans un secteur, mais sans jamais ignorer les autres, et en en possédant les codes à défaut d'en avoir la totale maitrise.

Le designer global affirme ainsi une forme d'expertise (objet / espace / interaction / mobilité / identité / service / expérience / décision) tout en s'autorisant à bouger au gré des opportunités, des projets, des envies aussi, dont celle de s'étonner !


Et c'est évidemment dans la collaboration, qui voit les talents s'additionner sur toutes ces dimensions, qu'il est possible de concevoir des systèmes complets et maîtrisés.

DESIGner global : Collaborer

 

Les projets sont en effet toujours plus grands que ceux qui y participent, et nul ne peut plus prétendre tout comprendre, maitriser et résoudre  à soi tout seul aujourd'hui.

 

Le monde est dense, ouvert, connecté, et les problèmes comme les opportunités sont à la dimension de la planète : énormes, complexes et incertains.

Le designer, pour généreux qu'il soit, ne peut absolument rien comprendre et produire seul, ni entouré que de designers.

Le Design est plus grand que les designers, et c'est associé aux ingénieurs, aux marketeurs, aux communicants, aux sociologues, aux chercheurs, et à de nombreux experts qu'il peut espérer produire des réponses, par nature systémique.

designer global : Un métier exigeant

 

Etre un designer global est un projet exigeant.

Le monde change tous les jours, et il faut donc suivre ses changements, si ce n'est les anticiper.

Il faut donc constamment être en veille, s'informer, se cultiver, et ce dans tous les domaines : arts, sciences, technologies, sciences sociales, politique, ... Toutes les possibilités d'éclairer le monde doivent être exploitées.

C'est à ce prix (mais qui est doux à payer, car se cultiver est un plaisir !), que le designer global peut espérer le rester longtemps, en s'attaquant à une grande diversité de problèmes, ce qui le/la connectera au monde tout le temps.

designer global : Un métier exaltant

 

Car c'est bien là la promesse du métier de Designer global : celle de rester connecté au monde en esprit curieux et ingénieux.
Le voir bouger autant que le faire bouger.
Le réparer autant que l'embellir.

Y apporter de la joie autant que du soin.
Le rendre habitable, pour tous et pour longtemps.

La formation designer global de CY école de design

Pour se former au métier de designer global, à CY école de design nous vous proposons une formation en 5 ans pour obtenir votre diplôme universitaire. Cette formation nous l'avons voulu aussi exigeante du point de vu des savoirs académiques que du point de vu de la professionnalisation qu'elle vous apportera.

 

Connectée au monde professionnel, avec une pédagogie principalement par projet, avec des projets sponsorisés et suivis par les partenaires de l'école, avec des enseignants professionnels et en activité dans leur domaine, avec 2 années (4e et 5e années en alternance, avec un conseil professionnel pour nous conseiller d'un point de vu pédagogique...

 

Nous avons souhaité que nos étudiants soient connectés à la réalité du monde, emprunts d'une excellence académique et d'un grand professionnalisme.